Victor de Guinzbourg

    

Victor de Guinzbourg, among the first to take the Eagles Nest

    

Victor de Guinzbourg riding in Hitler’s car (ouch!! How symbolic!! )

                

Victor de Guinzbourg undercover in North Africa

Larry Bereton is the nephew of Victor de Guinzburg. As promissed he wrote a bit about his uncle. Rather than placing it in the comment section, I will place it right here on top.

Thank you Larry!!

Hello Nico,
I hope the information that I’m about the post is useful and interesting about my uncle Victor de Guinzbourg. Before I get started, I would like to address the comments made by Mercer. I can just relate to you what was told me by my aunt and some conversations I had with my uncle. One must remember two things when dealing with individuals in counterintelligence. First, these individuals did not talk to outsiders on their exploits with counterintelligence. They played things very close to the vest. Second, due to his position, after World War II, a lot of his exploits and accomplishments as well as his true identity could not be made public. He was not working for the Soviets! The Soviets the price on his head and remained there until the day my uncle died.

As I said my first post, my uncle’s father Solomon de Guinzbourg owned the Russo Asiatic Bank. He was responsible for putting the finances together for the Trans Siberian railroad. During the Bolshevik revolution, after Stalin to power, Solomon de Guinzbourg was not allowed to leave the country. The Bolsheviks kept him to stabilize the currency. He did manage to escape and people that helped them were shot as traders by the Bolsheviks! My uncle’s mother was Victoria Korngold her first husband died and remarries my uncle’s father. Her family was from Austria and my uncle’s first cousin was Sigmund Freud.

The family settled in Berlin and that is where my uncle and my mother sister while she was on concert tour in Europe. My aunt Edith was a classically trained pianist who went to school at the Peabody Institute before the school changed its name to Juilliard.

With the troubles in Europe growing, my uncle in and left France in came to live in America with my grandparents. He joined the Army voluntarily and honest lady Europe received his commission. I do not know much of his exploits, the last time I checked with the CIA and the FBI, they had no record of him or so they said! I know is for the first American soldiers in Casablanca, Sicily, and France. One of his exploits was documented in the book, We Caught Spies. He is referred to in the book as Benson. The French government awarded him a legion of honor for the work he did.

I remember that he was working with one of the Rockefellers while in Sicily. He was also one of the first individuals that had access to Eagles Nest. He took the leather from the chair Hitler used and made three wallets. He signed the inside of the three and gave two of them to two of his colleagues. He kept one which I had my possession. (If anyone reading this knows who has yet to wallets, please contact me.)

After the war, my uncle was working for the United Nations on the military committee. In this position, he was able to gather a lot of information.

Thanks,
Larry

Several months ago I requested the National Archives and Research Administration (NARA) to do a search in their Counter Intelligence Corp (CIC) documents to see if they had anything regarding my father’s service in the 307th CIC. I recently recieved what they believed was my father’s (Victor de Koenigsberg) service in the 307th.

Unfortunatedly it was not my Dad’s. It was from Victor de Guinzbourg, another member of the 307th CIC. It is also unfortunate that there is nothing online regading his life or his accomplishments.

Therefore, I will post what I recieved from NARA so as to honor another WWII American Hero.

                   

Page 1; Pg. 2; Pg.3;  Pg.4; Pg.5; Pg.6; Pg.7; Pg.8;Pg.9; Pg.10;  Pg.11; Pg.12; Pg.13; Pg.14; Pg.15; Pg.16.

8 Responses to Victor de Guinzbourg

  1. Laurence Brereton says:

    Victor de Guinzbourg was my uncle. He died about 30 years ago. Are you seeking any information about him?

  2. nico says:

    Hi Laurence !! Actually what happened was that I requested someinformation of my father, Victor de Koenigsberg, who also served in the 307th CIC. NARA did not find anything, and they believed that your uncle was indeed my father. So they sent me his file by mistake. Since there was nothing of de Guinzbourg on line, I decide to honor him with this post. If there is anything you would like to share in here, let me know and I will give you administrative powers to the blog so you can do as you like.

    Your uncle seems to have been an incredible person, and did a magnificent job in WWII. I would like to leave something for posterity.

    Nico

  3. Laurence Brereton says:

    Hello Nico,
    Thank you for your offer. What I would like to do is add to this site in the next week or two and give a history of my uncle to you. His later records from 1946 on, are still sealed, but I my be able to give a hint of what he was doing. Let me collect my thoughts, and write them down to give you to post.
    Thanks,
    Larry

  4. Laurence says:

    Hi Nico,

    I have read the site you pointed me to. Let me explain with his deeds, what type of man my uncle was. During WWII, at times neither side knew which side my uncle was on. He was a counter spy. He was usually the first one in to spy or get a feel of the lay of the land, as with Casablanca and Sicily. To share some additional insight about my uncle with you, his mother was dragged from the family house in France and later killed in Auschwitz. Later he found his father hiding in the Pyrenees a few months after D-day. After all the hardship and pain, he was interroga ting the Goring and Skorzeny at Nuremberg. He felt sorry for Goring and felt Otto was a gentleman of the highest degree, but could be a danger.

    During his time at the U.N. he authored two books. The books contained proverbs from around the world. (At the time of his death, he had the world’s largest collection of proverbs.) The books contained proverbs from various countries. He included a proverb from the P.L.O. When the Israeli Delegation from the U.N. questioned him about it, he said “I believe in self determination for everyone as long as no one gets harmed”!

    I guess it was not bad for a guy who was born a White Russian Jew who died with a price on his head placed there by the Soviet Government!

    With all this being said, if you are showing me the site to show me you have interest, then I welcome you. If you are showing me the site for any other reason, it does not make any difference because I still welcome you!

    Warmest Regards,

    Larry

    PS I will click on the link in the next few days to contribute

  5. a mercer says:

    What was his official position as doing any interrogating of anyone in association with the Nuernberg tribunal, and who was he working for at the time–the Soviets? And by the way, Otto Skorzeny was a defendant at the Dachauer tribunals, not Nuernberg, and was acquitted.

  6. Larry says:

    Nico,
    I do apologize for not updating you sooner! To say I have been busy is an understatement. I will have time at the end of the year and will update the board.

  7. Hello, I believe I have an item that might be of interest– I buy silver and gold at auctions and bought a sterling silver box enraved,”Au grand Seigneur, V. de Guinzbourg, U.N. 1846-1967.” I would like to dispose of it fittingly, to pass it along to someone or somewhere that it would be properly appreciated. Please let me know your thoughts. Cheers.

  8. oops…lol….1946-1967….

Leave a Reply

